SecureDrop usability interviews and sessions at IFF

Bonjour,

@ei8fdb from Open Source Design suggested that sessions are organized while at IFF to practice SecureDrop with a scenario that would help find useability issues.

I’ll be there and can bring with me the necessary hardware to do so, i.e. one laptop and four USB keys (SVS, admin, journalist, transfert). I will run the source and journalist interface from the staging environment of my own laptop so I can debug and reset as necessary. I will also write a checklist derived from the existing documentation to not forget anything.

As for the scenario we should follow, where and how to take notes… I have no experience at all :slight_smile:

Cheers

1 Like

Hi Loic!

It’s great you’ve posted this. I’ll be at IFF from Tuesday morning til Friday.

It’ll be important that @belenbarrospena and I can get SecureDrop running before so we can get a good understanding.

About IFF, there are a number of ways to approach it:

1. We can use the opportunity to meet and talk with newroom journalists at IFF to learn how they work.

2. We can do some usability testing sessions with them, based on a scenario .

About what scenario to use - that’s what I’d like to learn about too. Is there an idea of the kinds of problems people have?

We can discuss that here, if possible. Are there Secure Drop users here? For both of the above (1 + 2) it’d be great to get an idea of how many Secure Drop users will be at IFF.

I’m happy to discuss all that here. Thanks!

I do not know. But Harlo Holmes will be at IFF and she may know more.

If SecureDrop is selected to participate in the sprint, could it be a opportunity to get UX feedbacks ?

Hi @dachary, yes, it would certainly be a good place to meet some current SecureDrop users. I’d be happy to go along to the LocLab sprint.