Injecting user interaction design in the journalist interface

Bonjour,

During the UX meeting last Friday @eloquence suggested it would be useful to dig into the shared inbox and the proposed changes to this model.

It was an interesting research and made me realize that we need a methodology to decide on journalist workflow changes. Luckily, with the work done by the UX team in the past weeks, that’s more or less what we are doing. Only we did not declare something as dramatic as this is our methodology :wink:

As a developer I must confess I tend to hate administrative overhead and deciding on a methodology needs to have serious benefits compared to let’s just patch the code because a user said something that sounded sensible. I vividly remember a remarkable case where, based on this patch away practice, I introduced something in SecureDrop that made the life of sources more confusing instead of simpler during a release. It went like this:

• In the past, when the source decided to submit a document for the first time (as opposed to checking for messages using a passphrase), the page asked them (again) if they wanted to use a passphrase. A contributor submitted a patch changing the language of the question to avoid confusion. That sounded reasonable to me and I approved and merged the change.
  • After the release of that change, two SecureDrop users came to me and said the language was misleading. And when the explained why, it struck me: it was worse than before. I was too much into SecureDrop to even see how confusing it was for a new user.
  • I tried to come up with a better language, asked around and then it struck me: the problem was not in the language, it was in the workflow. It went as follow:
    • On the home page, the sources were asked to decide if they want to publish a document for the first time or if they wanted to check for replies