Software as a last resort when the law fails whistleblowers

Bonjour,

This is my first attempt to advocate for SecureDrop. To explain why it is necessary and what makes it unique. I hesitated to post it because it is a little embarrassing. My interest is very recent and I’m convinced someone with more experience will find what I wrote either naive or a little ridiculous. But this is part of my learning curve and I should not be ashamed about it.

With that disclaimer, enjoy :slight_smile:

European directives and national laws offer protection to whistleblowers, under certain conditions. If they act in the interest of the public when they publish secret information, no charges will be brought against them. At least that’s the ideal goal everyone agrees to in theory. The reality is different and in the past few years the legal landscape shifted significantly. It has been the subject of much debate, laws passed and the courts ruling can hardly be predicted.

However, when it comes to national security, whistleblowing is something entirely different. It does not matter if the whistleblower acts in good faith. It does not matter if an intelligence agency acts outside of the law. When secret documents involving national security are leaked, there can be no trial, the judge has no option but to declare the whistleblower guilty, the legal system is blocked. The legislator feels so powerless that the reform of the whistleblower protection European directive in preparation before Ed. Snowden revelations did not even address the issue.