Spanish Translation: Casual or Formal?

Hello Folks,

I am new at SecureDrop translations, and I need clarification if there is anyone there directing this.
Some of the Spanish translations I found are in casual format, and I am wondering if that is what i should continue with, or if I should make it formal.

In my opinion, as a native speaker and for the critical business, I suggest that it be done with the formal format. For example, Tu vs Usted:
“Tu tienes que…” vs “Usted tiene que…”
“Por favor sube los archivos…” vs “Por favor suba los archivos…”

Knowing that right off the bat is important, so folks don’t make a mixed formats, which may make it look unprofessional. Again, this is my opinion.

Thank you, and I hope to hear a reply sometime soon!

Daniel

Welcome @daniel! Great feedback - I believe the translations thus far were contributed by a translator that is not a native speaker, so based on your knowledge as a native speaker, converting them to be formal seems like a good call. Let me know @dachary @bmeson if you disagree :slight_smile:

Hi Daniel,

We have the same issue in French and we decided for the formal way of adressing the viewer (i.e. Vous instead of Tu). This was agreed on by the localizationlab reviewer. I therefore think it would be better, for consistency, to not use the casual form. Could you please give me the URL of a translation using the casual form ? It is probably worth discussing with the original translator the reason for choosing this. In other words I agree with @redshiftzero on this one :wink:

Cheers

Hey Daniel,

I’m the one who has written most if not at all of the Spanish translations so far. I am in full agreement that we should use the formal/usted form of imperatives - that was a mistake on my end and I should have thought that through. Feel free to change anything I’ve written, or I can do that when I have a sec! Also feel free to change my translations in general - my Spanish is not technical or at professional frequency.